Wikipedia:Peer review

From Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Peer_review
Main Unanswered Instructions Discussion Tools Archive Project
PR icon.png

Peer reviews are open to any feedback, and nominators may also request subject-specific feedback. Editors and nominators may both edit articles during the discussion. Compared to the real-world peer review process, where experts themselves take part in reviewing the work of another, the majority of the volunteers here, like most editors in Wikipedia, lack expertise in the subject at hand. This is a good thing—it can make technically worded articles more accessible to the average reader. Those looking for expert input should consider contacting editors on the volunteers list, or contacting a relevant WikiProject.

To request a review, see the instructions page. Nominators are limited to one review at a time, and are encouraged to help reduce the backlog by commenting on other reviews. Any editor may comment on a review, and there is no requirement that any comment be acted on.

A list of all current peer reviews, with reviewers' comments included, can be found here. For easier navigation, a list of peer reviews, without the reviews themselves included, can be found here. A chronological peer reviews list can be found here.

Arts

Vincent Figgins


I've recently raised this article to GA, and considering trying to get it to an FA. If passed, this would be my first, so I'm keen to get input on what could be improved.

Thanks, Blythwood ( talk) 02:42, 27 November 2021 (UTC)


FunnymanGaitlin


I've listed this article for peer review because…I've only submitted one article before. This member is considered famous and I would like to get his bio and wiki page approved. It's been up for a month and still no one has reviewed. Could use any advice, review or instruction.

Thanks, Quezettcem3 ( talk) 00:56, 25 November 2021 (UTC)


William Utermohlen

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 20 November 2021, 20:22 UTC
Last edit: 26 November 2021, 06:34 UTC


Ronnie Rocket

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 12 November 2021, 15:04 UTC
Last edit: 21 November 2021, 01:21 UTC


I Knew You Were Trouble

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 30 October 2021, 07:28 UTC
Last edit: 22 November 2021, 00:04 UTC


My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 29 October 2021, 00:39 UTC
Last edit: 21 November 2021, 10:08 UTC


Budots


I've listed this article for peer review because… I intend to submit the article for GA.

Thanks, TreseTrese ( talk) 21:23, 8 October 2021 (UTC)


I Am the Best


I've listed this article for peer review because I possibly want to take this to FAC. Any constructive comments in improving this article are appreciated.

Thanks! ɴᴋᴏɴ21 ❯❯❯ talk 23:19, 5 October 2021 (UTC)

Comments from Aoba47

I am uncertain if I will be able to leave a full review so apologies in advance for that. I am confused by the article's mention of girl crush. The article links it to girl power, but I have never seen it used in that context. I have seen it more so used in the context of womance, and girl crush has a redirect to that article. I read the "Legacy" section of this article to try and get a better understanding of the girl crush concept in this context, and I am honestly still confused as it does not really define this image/concept. Could you clarify this for me? Aoba47 ( talk) 02:18, 1 November 2021 (UTC)

Yes, "girl crush" is a K-pop industry specific concept that mainly revolves around female empowerment, essentially anything that conveys a strong and independent image. This is generally contrasted with the image of cute and bubbly. "Girl crush" in K-pop doesn't actually have anything to do with womance but more resembles girl power. ɴᴋᴏɴ21 ❯❯❯ talk 03:04, 1 November 2021 (UTC)
  • That should be explained more clearly in the article (both that it is an industry specific term used in K-pop and its definition). As someone who is not familiar with K-pop at all, and I have not heard of this song either, this part was confusing to me. Further clarification would be needed, especially if you want to put this article up for a FAC. Aoba47 ( talk) 03:16, 1 November 2021 (UTC)
  • Also, the link to the girl power article does not really make sense in this context then. Aoba47 ( talk) 03:17, 1 November 2021 (UTC)
    Okay, I added an explanation of girl crush from a Billboard article. Would that work? ɴᴋᴏɴ21 ❯❯❯ talk 04:01, 1 November 2021 (UTC)
  • That looks better to me. Best of luck with the peer review! Aoba47 ( talk) 17:02, 1 November 2021 (UTC)


Phonk


I'm looking to see if this article can be improved any further, as I think it's as exhaustive as it gets. Also, I'm curious if an article of this size could be nominated for GA. Nehme 1499 15:11, 30 September 2021 (UTC)

Comments from Z1720

Hi Nehme1499 I am sorry that it has taken so long for someone to reivew this. Unfortunately, I don't think this is ready for GAN yet. I think more information needs to be added to the article to expand its scope. Try looking for more sources at WP:LIBRARY, Google Scholar, and using the academic databases provided by your local library system. Also, medium and soundcloud are not considered reliable sources so these need to be replaced. Please let me know if you have any questions. Z1720 ( talk) 14:53, 16 November 2021 (UTC)

@ Z1720: Thanks for your reply. Given the very recent nature of the musical genre, it's not something that we can source through academic papers. Also, why are SoundCloud's yearly reviews not reliable? And what do you mean by "medium"? Nehme 1499 16:27, 16 November 2021 (UTC)
The Soundcloud sources are to blogs, and it is unknown who the author is. This makes the sources dubious and is sometimes considered unreliable. Ref 3 is to medium.com, which per WP:MEDIUM is not considered reliable. I did a quick search for "phonk" in JSTOR and found some sources that might be promising. Keep looking for more sources that talk about this subject as you never know where you will find reliable sources. Z1720 ( talk) 16:36, 16 November 2021 (UTC)
@ Z1720: The author to the SoundCloud sources is Soundcloud itself ( author). I've replaced the medium source with another one. Thanks for your suggestion with JSTOR: I'll try looking for other sources. Nehme 1499 16:53, 16 November 2021 (UTC)


Cork Courthouse, Washington Street

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 22 September 2021, 14:37 UTC
Last edit: 16 November 2021, 14:59 UTC


Frozen II

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 5 September 2021, 05:44 UTC
Last edit: 16 November 2021, 15:02 UTC


Tumbling Dice

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 5 September 2021, 02:37 UTC
Last edit: 15 November 2021, 21:47 UTC


Embodiment of Scarlet Devil

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 30 August 2021, 14:24 UTC
Last edit: 21 November 2021, 00:42 UTC


Billy (Black Christmas)

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 4 August 2021, 18:34 UTC
Last edit: 16 November 2021, 14:35 UTC


Everyday life

Toys for Bob


My goal is to get this to Featured Article status within a month or two. The main things I could use help with are:

  • Identify any gaps in the coverage, especially in the company's years under Activision.
  • Identify any key employees other than the founders, to help describe the company's operations.
  • Identify any phrases that are confusing, so that I can WP:COPYEDIT for clarity and readability.

I did reach out to Cat's Tuxedo and OceanHok, for improving related topics like Skylanders, Crash, and Spyro. I don't mind doing the work, but I could use another pair of eyes to identify gaps and find sources. My hope is there will be two or three reviewers who can see what I missed. Shooterwalker ( talk) 18:03, 26 November 2021 (UTC)


Tessa Sanderson


I've listed this article for peer review because following Sillyfolkboy's helpful review last year when I nominated this as a GA, I'd like some pointers on improvements required to get it ready to nominate as a featured article. Are there any important sources that I've missed? Any sections that need expansion or trimming? I'll try and fill in the gaps in the tables wherever possible, now that it's easier to get into the British Library.

Thanks in advance for any improvement suggestions, BennyOnTheLoose ( talk) 21:45, 13 September 2021 (UTC)

Comments from Sportsfan77777

I'll review this article. Sportsfan77777 ( talk) 19:19, 2 October 2021 (UTC)

STANDARD NOTE: I have added this PR to the Template:FAC peer review sidebar to get quicker and more responses. When this PR is closed, please remove it from the list. Also, consider adding the sidebar to your userpage to help others discover pre-FAC PRs, and please review other articles in that template. Thanks! Z1720 ( talk) 14:38, 18 September 2021 (UTC)


Engineering and technology

Cedar Hill Yard


I've listed this article for peer review because I am looking to bring it to FAC in the near future. I have never nominated an article for FAC before, so I am looking for feedback on how to improve the article first. I am the sole author of almost 100% of the article, so having another set of eyes looking over would be a great help. I'm willing to answer another peer review request in return.

Thanks, Trainsandotherthings ( talk) 21:51, 11 November 2021 (UTC)

STANDARD NOTE: I have added this PR to the Template:FAC peer review sidebar to get quicker and more responses. When this PR is closed, please remove it from the list. Also, consider adding the sidebar to your userpage to help others discover pre-FAC PRs, and please review other articles in that template. Thanks! Z1720 ( talk) 02:18, 22 November 2021 (UTC)


Nintendo 64


I've listed this article for peer review because it's a high importance article for the Nintendo and Japan WikiProjects. I also want to review this article and do some work on it before it gets nominated for GA status

Thanks, Showerstuffthoughts ( talk) 14:42, 8 November 2021 (UTC)


Coopers Gap Wind Farm

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 6 November 2021, 19:31 UTC
Last edit: 16 November 2021, 22:07 UTC


Scott Kelly (astronaut)


I've listed this article for peer review becaus I am looking to get it to FA status. Several years ago, I worked on this article and got it to GA status; as it has been some time since it was last reviewed I would like someone other than me to take a look at it and give feedback before I nominate it for FAC.

Thanks, Balon Greyjoy ( talk) 06:18, 26 October 2021 (UTC)


The Epic Split


I've listed this article for peer review because I would like to take thas article to WP:FAC. This is the first time I am attempting such a thing and would like to get a review to see what would need to be done to get that done.

Thanks, PhotographyEdits ( talk) 20:51, 12 October 2021 (UTC)

I would suggest some general expansions. @ PhotographyEdits Wingwatchers ( talk) 03:44, 18 October 2021 (UTC)


Pan Am Flight 7

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 12 October 2021, 16:23 UTC
Last edit: 6 November 2021, 19:24 UTC


Plastic recycling


I've been editing this page fairly continuously since early June. Apart from some contributions from User:Sadads, regarding industry lobbying, everything here is essentially my work. I don't usually edit in this way and my own experience of large single-editor pages is that they can be idiosyncratic. I'd really like to avoid that here. I consider this an important topic and I'd like to see it done right. Primarily I'd like some feedback on what I've done wrong and what improvements or gaps need sorting.

Thanks, Project Osprey ( talk) 22:34, 26 September 2021 (UTC)

Comments by Wretchskull

Glad to see important articles here!

  • Many sentences and paragraphs are unreferenced. There are myriads of sources available in google scholar, the Wikilibrary, etc. on this topic.
  • Most dated information can be updated (preferably 2019-present), as most sources are around the 2000s.
  • The "Plastic waste composition" section relies on a table and a pie chart; an article this notable would probably require expansion with prose.

Good luck - Wretchskull ( talk) 16:24, 4 November 2021 (UTC)

Thanks for getting in touch. I think I can address the first and last points. The middle one is a bit tougher, detailed statistics aren't often open access (the few that are have been endlessly recycled). I'm also trying to avoid WP:SYNTH by not combining different data sets, which in places has made it necessary to rely on older but more complete data. Obviously, as newer stuff becomes available I'll try to update, the whole area is evolving each year. Can I ask how easy you found the technical bits to follow? -- Project Osprey ( talk) 11:48, 5 November 2021 (UTC)


Mexico City Metro overpass collapse


I've listed this article for peer review because this is the first time I've written such a comprehensive article since I co-wrote Halo (Beyoncé song) 10 years ago. I would like to turn it initially into a GA and maybe later into a FA. Right now (excluding minor grammar and syntax errors that may exist) I think my main hesitation is the overall structure of the article. While everything is arranged chronologically, I sometimes feel that some things can be omitted or placed elsewhere, or that some sections can be mixed up. I also have a problem with a paragraph in "Immediate aftermath" ("The current and former heads of government of Mexico City, Sheinbaum and Ebrard...) as I feel the paragraph is out of place (I did not add it and it exists since May) and while it is true what it says, I do not think it will affect the candidacies of the politicians, especially since none is (nor will be) under investigation.

If possible, I would also like advice on what could be summarized, omitted or added. Thanks in advance, (CC) Tbhotch 16:21, 12 September 2021 (UTC)


International Space Station

Previous peer review


I've listed this article for peer review because the last time ISS received a thorough review was over ten years ago. Once upon a time, I did a fair amount of copy-edit work with another major contributor to the article and eventually, it made it to FA. Since then, it has fallen from FA, and is rated as B and sometimes even C class in various projects. I would love to see it achieve GA status or even regain FA status once again, but I thought a good look-over might prove beneficial first.

Thanks, Pax Verbum 20:13, 9 September 2021 (UTC)

Hello, I'm CactiStaccingCrane ( talk), and I gonna review the article right now! 08:19, 27 September 2021 (UTC)

Comments from CactiStaccingCrane

  • The article need some touch-up on accessibility, paticularly on the Pirs airlock & Russian docking port at the structure. There are a lot of pictures in the article, consider put them in galleries.
  • The components, modules and elements sub-section maybe unnecessary, since each of them have its own article.
  • There's a ton of copyright violation in the article. In fact, it might be enough to bomb most of the content in some sections. I think you should paraphrase them. [ [1]]
Would you be able to point out the "ton of copyright violations?" I ran it through the copyvio tool, and comparing the article to other sites, there is very little, if any, actual copyright violation. - Pax Verbum 06:26, 2 October 2021 (UTC)
Well, I think that the issues have been fixed. Well done! CactiStaccingCrane ( talk) 00:34, 4 October 2021 (UTC)
Using the revision available when you posted this review, I see only two CN tags. Can you show me where there are more? I might be missing something. - Pax Verbum 06:26, 2 October 2021 (UTC)
I don't think there is any [ citation needed] tag anymore, but there are some sections which don't have enough sources, such as the Pressurised modules section. CactiStaccingCrane ( talk) 00:34, 4 October 2021 (UTC)
  • There is still a cleanup tag on a section.
Yes, it does need to be addressed. Thank you. - Pax Verbum 06:26, 2 October 2021 (UTC)
  • Use less quotes from the articles. Gut the contents out and fix it.

Basically, there is a lot that the article need to be fixed. However, these issues are solvable, and when all these glaring problems are fixed, I will review the article more throughly. CactiStaccingCrane ( talk) 08:33, 27 September 2021 (UTC)

@ Pax85: Sorry for me coming across a bit combative with your peer review. Don't feel discouraged, I would still help you! It's just that I was having a bad day then. CactiStaccingCrane ( talk) 00:30, 4 October 2021 (UTC)

Comments from Z1720

After taking a quick skim of the article, here are some comments for improvement before a GAN:

  • There should be a citation at the end of every paragraph that verifies the preceeding information.
  • "Pressurised modules" section has a clean-up banner message. This needs to be resolved.
  • Lots of sections, like the lede, scientific research, and assembly, are quite long. Either remove unnecessary information or create level 3 sections
  • On the other side of the equation, there are lots of sections that are one paragraph long, like in "Pressurised modules". Consider merging these sections, per WP:OVERSECTION

Once the above are addressed, please ping me and I will give more comments. Z1720 ( talk) 19:06, 31 October 2021 (UTC)

@ Pax85: to ensure they saw these comments. Are you still interested in working on this article? Z1720 ( talk) 15:05, 16 November 2021 (UTC)


Vector processor


I've listed this article for peer review because it is an important historical part of computing history (and 470 other pages link to it). also i feel it shoukd be listed as importance "Top", it is that fundamental to computer science, however that is something that definitely needs some consensus and feedback on, you don't put computing articles at "top" without a good reason and careful consideration.

Thanks, Lkcl ( talk) 23:53, 10 June 2021 (UTC)

Hi @ Lkcl: I am sorry that it has taken so long for someone to respond to this. Typically, articles are assessed as "Top" importance by the Wikiproject. An article's condition or prose does not usually contribute to this designation. I suggest reaching out to Wikipedia:WikiProject Computing and asking someone from that project if its importance can be upgraded. As for the article, please ensure that everything is cited; there should be a citation at the end of each paragraph, minimum. You can also reach out to people on Wikiproject Computing for additional help on this technical article, as I do not have the expertise to evaluate this. Z1720 ( talk) 15:52, 9 November 2021 (UTC)

@ Lkcl: are you still interested in getting comments for this PR? Have you reached out to any editors? Z1720 ( talk) 16:25, 26 November 2021 (UTC)


General

Rahul Gandhi


I've listed this article for peer review because...Though I have tried to improve the article recently, not much information is available about the living person. I need to know more about what can be added / removed to avoid future GA failure. I welcome all inputs. Thank you.-- 25 CENTS VICTORIOUS  🍁 06:06, 2 July 2021 (UTC)

Comments by Zetana

Here's some quick observations I noted on a skim, to start off. Zetana ( talk) 07:48, 7 November 2021 (UTC)

  1. Gandhi was adamant on creating a professional career before joining politics. I don't see a citation for this claim
  2. Gandhi has been a strong proponent of harnessing the scale and dexterity that technology can lend while amplifying the power of citizens. This sentence reads as promotionalism, I don't quite understand if it's necessary. If it's to describe what Gandhi did while in the private sector, it needs a citation
  3. I think the image with Hillary Clinton should be removed, as the other one is from the same year, and seems like it's more relevant to what Gandhi does (natl. politics, rather than intl.)
  4. The "Farmers' and Land Agitation" section is a bit unclear to me, what's the importance of this? And what is it about? There's a lot of information here about what appears to be just a series of comments over a few months, and seems like it should be merged into the "Political career" section instead.
  5. A strong advocate of women's rights and empowerment... The citation doesn't seem to support the "strong advocate" claim

This is all I have for now, more to come in a few days as I continue to read it over. Zetana ( talk) 07:48, 7 November 2021 (UTC)

Mostly I think the article could use some prose work but I will address that later. I don't think the article is missing anything important, just curious if there's any additional information you've found about Gandhi's political stances. Mitch McConnell, for example, has a lot of content about his political beliefs, both in Mitch McConnell § Political positions and in a sub-article Political positions of Mitch McConnell. It's a bit long/overweighted in McConnell's case (especially because he's a senior political figure), but perhaps there's stuff about what Gandhi thinks about the economy, foreign policy (beyond just national security), health, etc. other hot-button issues in India... have you seen anything about that? Zetana ( talk) 04:24, 10 November 2021 (UTC)
@ 25 Cents FC: to ensure they saw the above comments. Are you still interested in editing this article? Z1720 ( talk) 16:27, 26 November 2021 (UTC)


Utah Girls Football League

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 17 July 2021, 07:11 UTC
Last edit: 16 November 2021, 15:08 UTC


List of Coppa Italia finals

Previous peer review


I've listed this article for peer review because I'd like that this article'd be a FL. Dr Salvus 17:07, 22 July 2021 (UTC)

Thanks, Dr Salvus 17:07, 22 July 2021 (UTC)


Turkuvaz Media Group


I've listed this article for peer review because it was used as a reference by Youtube to determine whether certain channels were government funded. However, according to Webtekno, Youtube later stated that the information in the Wikipedia page was wrong. [2] By the way although Webtekno is an unreliable source per tr:WP:GKDP#Webtekno.com, many mainstream outlets cited their content. [3] [4] [5] I want to make this article as accurate as possible. Please tell me if there are any mistakes in it.

Thanks, V. E. ( talk) 11:09, 13 August 2021 (UTC)


Jürgen Klopp


I've listed this article for peer review because... I want to get this article to GA status. I have had a look over it and it seems to be ok, no citation needed or general clean up tags. However, it is a large article and I may well have missed something. If others could have a look and give me an idea of what would be needed to bring it to GA status it would be much appreciated.

Thanks, REDMAN 2019 ( talk) 12:20, 28 August 2021 (UTC)


Hotels.com


I've listed this article for peer review because... I am thinking of trying to get the article to a GA article, but I need advice on how to improve the article.

Thanks, Sahaib3005 ( talk) 16:24, 31 August 2021 (UTC)

Comments by Z1720

Hi Sahaib3005, some quick comments from a skim:

  • Every paragraph in the article should end with a citation.
  • Any info on the history from 1991 to 2001? This is a very long gap to not have information for.
  • Any information on its history post-2016?
  • Any information on the Advertising post-2019?
  • All info in the infobox, including who the president is, should be in the body of the article and cited.

If you would like more comments, please ping once the above are complete. In general, the article could use more information before being nominated for GA. Z1720 ( talk) 01:01, 22 October 2021 (UTC)

@ Sahaib3005: to ensure they saw the above comments. Please ping me when the above are addressed. Z1720 ( talk) 15:10, 16 November 2021 (UTC)


Yuzuru Hanyu Olympics seasons


I've listed this article for peer review because this article was a split article from Yuzuru Hanyu during its GA review process, and since then it has been updated and developed to be a stand-alone article. As the other split article, List of career achievements by Yuzuru Hanyu, has reached FL status, Henni147 and I are thinking to bring this at least to GA level as well. Since there hasn't been an article on a skater's Olympics seasons like this on Wiki, we don't have any standard to follow and I'm thinking peer-reviewing would be a good chance to gather other ideas before nominating it for GA or FA.

Thanks, Yolo4A4Lo ( talk) 09:01, 18 October 2021 (UTC)

Comments by Zetana

First impressions are that it's very good, and complete in content. I will just review for prose to help tighten up the writing. It'll take me a few days (busy IRL and onwiki) but I should be able to get you a first batch of comments by this weekend. Zetana ( talk) 04:50, 10 November 2021 (UTC)

Thank you. Looking forward for your comments. - Yolo4A4Lo ( talk) 06:09, 10 November 2021 (UTC)
apologies, i've been very busy, so i haven't managed to get around to this. i will leave you comments tomorrow as soon as i can. Zetana ( talk) 07:33, 15 November 2021 (UTC)


Lugia


I've listed this article for peer review because I want to nominate this article for Good Article. I am new to this process but because this is a subject I like, I would like to get involved by working on an article I'm interested in.

Thanks, ShadowTemple19 ( talk) 22:56, 23 November 2021 (UTC)


Geography and places

MacLehose Trail


I've listed this article for peer review because I'm thinking of nominating it as a good article and would welcome any comments on how to improve it so it would pass GAN. Any general comments would be much appreciated too! If it helps, I've based the structure of the article on Wicklow Way which is currently a GA.

Thanks, IndentFirstParagraph ( talk) 14:25, 1 July 2021 (UTC)

  • Hi IndentFirstParagraph, I noticed that you have not edited since July. Are you still interested in receiving feedback in this PR? Z1720 ( talk) 02:38, 18 October 2021 (UTC)

Comments from Z1720

I took a quick skim through the article. I don't think there's anything that would cause it to instantly fail at GA, so I think it's ready to be nominated. Ensure that everything in the article is cited, especially the last sentence in each paragraph. Also, some of the paragraphs are quite long; I suggest reading WP:REDEX and looking for places where the same information can be expressed in fewer words. I hope this is helpful in improving this article. Z1720 ( talk) 15:08, 18 October 2021 (UTC)

@ IndentFirstParagraph: Are you still working on this article? I noticed that you are not actively making edits. Z1720 ( talk) 15:12, 16 November 2021 (UTC)


List of longest streams of Minnesota

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 17 May 2021, 22:01 UTC
Last edit: 16 November 2021, 00:31 UTC


History

Draft Eisenhower movement


When I first edited this article, I had no intention to take it anywhere except GA. But, here I am, requesting a peer review pre-FAC. This is currently an WikiProject Military history A-class article, also a good article. I have tried to include all major reliable source, keeping the article comprehensive, but concise. Though I do want to take it to FAC, I will do so only if reviewers here agree that (1) it is comprehensive (2) sources are reliable. Appreciate any comments. Thanks – Kavyansh.Singh ( talk) 12:31, 17 November 2021 (UTC)

Gog the Mild

  • I have done a little copy editing. Revert or query anything you don't like.
  • "issued an internal memo at Columbia University for release". "internal memo" and "for release" seem contradictory to me.
    • Removed 'internal', because it was indeed for release. – Kavyansh.Singh ( talk) 04:56, 19 November 2021 (UTC)
  • "who had later bolted the Democratic nomination". 1. Would this read better if "had" was removed? 2. What does "bolted" mean in this context? (Is it US English?)
    • (1) Removed had (2) Reworded 'bolted' to 'walked out' – Kavyansh.Singh ( talk) 04:56, 19 November 2021 (UTC)
  • "called and encouraged Eisenhower to run". "called" as in 1. visited 2. telephoned 3. publicly called for? I think we should be told.
    • That a really good question. Scanning through the book and newspapers, it appears to me that Thurmond publicly called for Ike's nomination. Specified in the article. – Kavyansh.Singh ( talk) 04:56, 19 November 2021 (UTC)

That's all I have. Fine work indeed. Gog the Mild ( talk) 19:16, 18 November 2021 (UTC)

Gog, thanks a lot for c/e and comments. – Kavyansh.Singh ( talk) 04:56, 19 November 2021 (UTC)


Wei Yan


I've listed this article for peer review because

  • the article isn't lacking its citation.
  • the article structure solid enough & enjoyable to read
  • PoV neutral enough
  • it have scholarly commentary

Thanks, Ahendra ( talk) 13:41, 15 November 2021 (UTC)

Hi Ahendra, peer review is for editors who are looking to get feedback on their article. Did you mean to nominate this for Good Article status? If not, what would you like reviewers to comment on, or give feedback for? Z1720 ( talk) 21:05, 23 November 2021 (UTC)
Hi Z1720, i only looking for further feedback, since for WP:GA the arcitle still lacking inline citations. Ahendra ( talk) 21:10, 23 November 2021 (UTC)

Comments from Z1720

Some thoughts:

  • The "In Romance of the Three Kingdoms" and "In popular culture" sections require inline citations. Also, per WP:OVERSECTION I think they can be combined together.
  • The "Analysis" section relies too much on quotes. Instead of copying what someone has said, it is better to summarise the information.
  • References should have specific page numbers, if possible.
  • Every source should be used as inline citations in the article, not just listed at the bottom. Currently there are no inline citations for "de Crespigny, Rafe (1990)", "de Crespigny, Rafe (2003)." "de Crespigny, Rafe (2004)" "de Crespigny, Rafe (2004)." and "Zhu, Ziyan (2010)". It's possible that the citations are used, but because there is missing information for the inline citation they are not pointing to the correct source.

Those are my thoughts. Z1720 ( talk) 16:37, 26 November 2021 (UTC)


2021 Serbian local elections


I've listed this article for peer review because I am planning to nominate it for GA, and I'm unsure if the article itself is 100% completed.

Thanks, Vacant0 ( talk) 14:02, 11 July 2021 (UTC)

Comments by Zetana

I've made some initial copy-edits and prose work ( Special:Diff/1047110912), feel free to revert some or all of them if you disagree. I'll post some more feedback in a bit; I'll go section by section. Zetana ( talk) 02:04, 29 September 2021 (UTC)

Overall, I think the article has most information that a reader would be looking for. Personally, I'd switch the Electoral system and Background sections so Electoral system is first, followed by Background. I don't know anything about Serbian politics, so I'd be interested in having some summaries of the parties in the running (did they campaign on any specific issues?). I also think the Background and Results sections could use more information (why'd Preševo's city council get dissolved in 2017? what did Movement for Krajina campaign on? what were the results of the "multiple elections"? etc. / was there any polling information predicting election results? what did political parties say about the results? etc.) as well.

In case you haven't seen it already, there's a number of elections-related FAs at Wikipedia:WikiProject Elections and Referendums § Featured articles that might be a good reference. I can post section-specific comments on prose tomorrow. Zetana ( talk) 06:15, 29 September 2021 (UTC)

Thank you for the cleanup and for the comment. I'm going to expand the article by the end of this week and on top of that, I will add more summaries of things that you have suggested. I'm also going to look through the featured articles since they will probably help me while writing. I appreciate this and thanks again, Cheers -- Vacant0 ( talk) 22:27, 29 September 2021 (UTC)
Of course, no problem. Let me know when you've finished expanding the article, and I can leave more detailed feedback to help refine the prose. Zetana ( talk) 02:27, 30 September 2021 (UTC)
Okay, looks much improved from when I first read it! Just asking again if you found any information about what the parties campaigned on, otherwise I don't have much else to add. I'll take a couple days to read the article again and think, I'll ping you to let you know if I've come up with anything else. If not, then I'll start on some more prose comments. Zetana ( talk) 05:40, 8 November 2021 (UTC)
I haven't found any information regarding campaigns. -- Vacant0 ( talk) 20:56, 9 November 2021 (UTC)
Okay. I'll take some time to think over the article again, but I should be able to get back to you by Friday or so. Zetana ( talk) 03:52, 10 November 2021 (UTC)
sorry I haven't gotten back to this, I will leave some more feedback tomorrow as soon as I can. Zetana ( talk) 07:32, 15 November 2021 (UTC)
Alright, I think the article's pretty complete and isn't missing any major details. Regarding comments on prose: how would you like me to give them? I can make my edits directly to the page and you can revert whichever ones you disagree with. Or, I can copy the page over to my sandbox and make prose edits there, and you can pick and choose the ones you prefer (for example, this is what I did for Pan Am Flight 7). Zetana ( talk) 04:15, 16 November 2021 (UTC)
Hi, feel free to make any prose edits on the article itself. -- Vacant0 ( talk) 18:46, 16 November 2021 (UTC)


Vito Trause


I've listed this article for peer review because I would like to pursue turning this into a Good Article and would like the article to be in good shape before I list it at WP:GAN. Primarily, I'm seeking two things:

  1. Feedback on the extent to which the article is of decent breadth, as evaluated by someone who's unfamiliar with this specific individual, as well as ways to improve breadth; and
  2. A proofreading of the document to ensure that there are no spelling mistakes, ambiguous phrases, or grammar/syntax errors.

The article is largely based off of news pieces that span some ~75 years (the article subject lived into his nineties), so it may be difficult for individuals without access to newspapers.com (and/or subscriptions to North Jersey Gannett-owned papers) to verify that my work is WP:OR compliant. If you can do this, then that would be great, but if not it's no big deal.

Thank you!

Mikehawk10 ( talk) 04:26, 4 November 2021 (UTC)


Pompey stone


Looking for thoughts on where to take the article from here. Thanks, Eddie891 Talk Work 01:10, 25 October 2021 (UTC)

Comments by Usernameunique

Design

  • the New York state archaeologist — Was this an official title, i.e., he was the official archaeologist for the state of New York?
  • Yeah, the post is through the New York State Museum [6], officially "state archaeologist" as titled by the state education department, however it doesn't seem to have been ever created by a state law [7]. Clarke himself may be notable... I will redlink
  • had been changed — Any more details on how this happened? Someone with a chisel? Weathering?
  • They honestly aren't sure. Case's article suggests that the state archaeologist basically didn't notice the alteration until 1937 and the mentioned fire would likely have wiped out virtually all earlier records, unfortunately. I've emailed the New York State museum but heard nothing back, not that it would be permissible either way. Since it was on display in the museum, it was probably someone who actually altered it.
    Clarke wrote the Onondaga Historical Association, a letter I've actually seen, which Case quotes him as saying "I am at a loss to give a reason for this unless in the years since its discovery someone has made an attempt to restore the faint lines by scratching them deeper and in doing so lost a part or erred in the date." I could quote that or add a sentence along those lines if it would help?

History

  • It was moved to the nearby village of Manlius — When/by whom?
  • Honestly not sure by whom, but after about six months
  • essentially directly after a year in Manlius. I perhaps have clarified?
  • "better facilities for the inspection" — Whose words?
  • Attributed
  • What happened after 1880?
  • The structure I'm envisioning is the description section first, followed by the 'creation, discovery and early display', then 'analysis and discovery as hoax' and ending with later display. I've re-titled the sections does that make it clearer?

Analysis

  • an article republished — Where was it initially published?
  • Sadly all the paper describes is "An United States' Paper" and I've been able to find nothing else. I kept this in because it's the earliest analysis that I've been able to track down.
  • The first sentence is confusing and a bit of a run-on.
  • Attempted to clarify, now two joined by a semicolon.
  • Barber and Howe theorized — In a journal?
  • Book, clarified.
  • 1847 work — Book?
  • book
  • Lots of names in the second paragraph without descriptions of who they were.
  • added
  • The publications mentioned in the second paragraph should all be long in the public domain. I'd cite each of them as well, along with links to them (e.g., on Hathitrust or the Internet Archive).
  • I think I've cited virtually all of them to their gbooks now
  • submitted a paper to — Was it published?
  • Corrected error
  • The sentences in the second paragraph feel fairly unconnected. Are there any ways to tie them together more?
  • I'll come back to this one, shortly

More later. Generally speaking, the article seems to follow the chronology of the scholarship on the stone, rather than the chronology of the stone itself. For instance, the part about Sweet letting on that the stone was a hoax is buried deep within the article, when arguably this information should be the very first part of "History". -- Usernameunique ( talk) 05:06, 25 November 2021 (UTC)

  • Good point, I've moved some of it but left mention of Sweet's letter later for clarity. How does that flow? Eddie891 Talk Work 17:12, 25 November 2021 (UTC)
  • Thank you so much for your comments to date! Eddie891 Talk Work 20:56, 25 November 2021 (UTC)


Abdollah Mirza Qajar


i'm planning to nominate this article for FA, i'm looking forward for any suggestions. thanks. Amir Ghandi ( talk) 04:23, 20 October 2021 (UTC)

Drive-by comments
  • The following sources are cited under the Bibliography section, but are not used in the prose as in-line citations. If they have some significant work on the topic, better to cite them. If they provide certain mention of the topic or closely related topics, better move then to "Further reading" section. Else remove.
    • Al Davod, Ali (Winter 2001). "دخمه ارغون" [A look at Tomb of Arghun by Habib Yaghmaei]. Nashr-e Dansh (in Persian) (102): 57–58. ISSN 0259-9090. OCLC 607709011
    • Amanat, Abbas (1997). Pivot of the universe : Nasir al-Din Shah Qajar and the Iranian Monarchy, 1831-1896. Berkeley: University of California Press. ISBN 9780520914056. OCLC 44964072
    • Anosh, Abolhasan Fayyaz (2011). "پديدة رست مالتواريخ؛ تأملي بر شخصيت محمد هاشم آصف و اثر تاريخي او" [Rostam Al- Tavarikh An Analysis of the Character of Mohammad Hashem Asef and his Historical Work] (PDF). Tahqiqat-e Tarikh-e Ejtemai (Social History Studies) (in Persian). 1 (1): 97–122. ISSN 2383-0484. OCLC 7854919621
    • Ostadi Moghadam, Kazem (2015). کتابشناسی خط فارسی و تغییر خط [An Encyclopedia of Persian Calligraphy and It's Changes] (in Persian). Tehran. ISBN 9786000437336. OCLC 1243881046

Kavyansh.Singh ( talk) 11:06, 24 November 2021 (UTC)


1968–1969 Japanese university protests

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 28 July 2021, 13:29 UTC
Last edit: 9 November 2021, 14:04 UTC


Natural sciences and mathematics

Cosmophasis lami


I've listed this article for peer review because i want to get this to GA, feedback appreciated

Thanks, Leomk ( Don't shout here, Shout here!) 09:14, 22 November 2021 (UTC)


Constant-recursive sequence


I've listed this article for peer review because I have been working on expansions and improvements to the article, hoping to (eventually) get it to GA status. Looking for feedback on all aspects of the article which would need to be fixed or improved to have a feasible chance for GA. This is my first time posting a peer review, apologies if I got anything wrong! Thanks! Caleb Stanford ( talk) 22:07, 18 November 2021 (UTC)


TRAPPIST-1


I've listed this article for peer review because I just did a major expansion on the article and wanted to get second opinions on whether the new version is OK to people. I was also thinking of sending this article to FAC or GAN [after some cleanup] but I have never written an astronomy article before so I'd like to get some assistance from editors with experience in that field.

Thanks, Jo-Jo Eumerus ( talk) 17:20, 16 November 2021 (UTC)


Neuroscience


I've listed this article for peer review because… submission for GA , main issues are grammar errors and potentially unsourced material. besides this, I would like to see the article improved in general. I think a vital article should be as high quality as possible.

Thanks, RJJ4y7 ( talk) 13:00, 3 November 2021 (UTC)

Comments from Wretchskull

  • Multiple sentences and paragraphs are unreferenced.
  • References and information about modern neuroscience can almost certainly be updated. Searching "Neuroscience" on google scholar shows 64,000 results in 2021 alone.
  • Some subsections contain a few or just one sentence, such as "Artificial neuron implants".
  • The table in the "Major branches" section only has three references for three branches.

Feel free to use the WP:LIB and WP:RX. Good luck! - Wretchskull ( talk) 16:47, 4 November 2021 (UTC)

@ RJJ4y7: to ensure that they saw the above comments. Z1720 ( talk) 02:27, 22 November 2021 (UTC)


Psilocybe tasmaniana


I've listed this article for peer review because it has been expanded fairly extensively from stub class. It is an old article that had no content and isn't likely to be found and reviewed by chance. It is the first article I've attempted to write and I would like any kind of constructive feedback and to hopefully move it out of stub class and in to something more accurate.

Thanks, Mycellenz ( talk) 02:14, 13 October 2021 (UTC)


Typhoon Emma (1959)

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 6 September 2021, 01:02 UTC
Last edit: 17 November 2021, 05:05 UTC


Peking Man


I've listed this article for peer review because the article certainly can be organized better. For example, the question of cannibalism is discussed in great detail in the 2nd and 3rd paragraphs of Age and taphonomy; fire is brought up in a lot of detail in taphonomy, palaeoenvironment, and its own section fire; and most sections are incredibly long and could use some subdivisions but I can't think of any logical ones. Also, comments on general grammar and readability would be appreciated

Thanks,    User:Dunkleosteus77 | push to talk  03:28, 6 August 2021 (UTC)


Language and literature

Journalism of Early Modern Europe


I've listed this article for peer review because I plan on getting it to GA at some point and as it was last rated as C want some clarification on what could be improved to get it there. I contacted an expert in the area via email to get some feedback but am still waiting on a response.

Thanks, A. C. Santacruz Talk 11:25, 20 October 2021 (UTC)


F. Scott Fitzgerald

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 2 October 2021, 17:04 UTC
Last edit: 21 November 2021, 19:12 UTC


Dinogad's Smock

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 14 July 2021, 11:29 UTC
Last edit: 14 November 2021, 11:40 UTC


Philosophy and religion

Al-Fatiha


I've listed this article for peer review because the article looks good enough to be nominated. the structure us well done so far. grammar good enough. inline citation doesnt lacking.

Thanks, Ahendra ( talk) 05:33, 17 November 2021 (UTC)


Islamic marriage contract


Are you satisfied with state of the article? I've listed this article for peer review to find out areas of improvement and seek help in references and the article expansion.

Thanks, Bookku, 'Encyclopedias = expanding information & knowledge' ( talk) 09:47, 10 October 2021 (UTC)

@ Bookku: I think this article could use major expansion. I found several books on this topic [8] [9]. There are some articles [10] [11] on how Western courts treat Islamic marital contracts. So I think there's much room for expansion. I'd say the article is currently not far from being a stub. VR talk 23:38, 12 November 2021 (UTC)


Social sciences and society

Andre De Grasse


I've listed this article for peer review because I would like an assessment of the page. I would like to know what would be a grade assessment of the page and how to improve the article towards a GA article.

Thanks, Words in the Wind( talk) 18:46, 19 November 2021 (UTC)


Ian Hislop


I've listed this article for peer review because I am thinking of nominating it for Good Article status, but would like it to be checked by reviewers beforehand.

Thanks, — AFreshStart ( talk) 17:00, 15 November 2021 (UTC)


Atari Games Corp. v. Nintendo of America Inc.


I've listed this article for peer review because I would like to try to nominate it for a good article. I don't think it is there yet but I am not sure where to get started and where it would need the most help. Anyone who might pull up sources would also be helpful. Jorahm ( talk) 18:16, 7 November 2021 (UTC)

Comment(s) from Extraordinary Writ

I can help with the sources, Jorahm. Take a look through this Google Scholar search: there are lots of relevant law review articles that discuss the case in detail. I have free HeinOnline access (through WP:TWL), so I can send you PDFs of any of these. Just email me the names of any articles that you're interested in, and I'll send you copies. Oh, and I'll try to leave some comments on the article itself sometime soon. Cheers, Extraordinary Writ ( talk) 07:43, 8 November 2021 (UTC)

  • Thank you for your offer! I found these [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] from the more recent times. These older ones may offer equal but different value [17] [18] [19] [20] [21]. What is the best way to get these from you? Jorahm ( talk) 18:56, 14 November 2021 (UTC)
  • Jorahm, the easiest way would be for you to send me an email through the "Email this user" interface (which you can read about here) so that I can reply with the attachments. If that doesn't work for you, I can try to come up with another way. Extraordinary Writ ( talk) 20:02, 14 November 2021 (UTC)


Open New York


I've listed this article for peer review because I would like feedback on the content, particularly with respect to WP:NPOV, and that it is up to par with other articles on non-profit organizations.

Thanks, Varavour ( talk) 16:01, 19 October 2021 (UTC)


William McAndrew (educator)


I've listed this article for peer review because I would like to resubmit it for consideration as a FA

Thanks, SecretName101 ( talk) 06:32, 21 September 2021 (UTC)


Atlantic College


I've listed this article for peer review as it has had substantial revisions and additions (by many different editors) since being assessed as Start-class in the schools (high-importance), education (mid-importance), and Wales categories 8+ years ago. Would appreciate any pointers to how best to improve the article, and external eyes to highlight where there might be gaps in the content. (ps - not sure what the best "topic" is for this peer review; an educational institution seems to feel loosely within "Social sciences and society" but happy to adjust if there's a better home for it, or if it would be better off in the general list.)

Thanks, Dotx3 ( talk) 21:45, 12 September 2021 (UTC)

Comments by Z1720

Hi Dotx3, I am sorry that it has taken so long for someone to comment on this article. Here are some suggestions, based on a quick skim:

  • Each paragraph should end in a citation to verify the preceeding information.
  • Ref 5 is for a Wikipedia page. Wikipedia should never be used as a citation in Wikipedia articles.
  • The notable alumni and students section is too long. I suggest trimming out the less-important people.
  • The second paragraph in Academics needs citations.
  • The second paragraph in College needs citations.
  • "Students from over 90 countries participate in Atlantic College's rigorous two-year programme" Delete rigorous, as that is subjective.

Once these are addressed, please ping me and I will add additional comments. If you are concerned that you might be missing information, I suggest looking at featured articles about schools, such as Texas A&M University. Z1720 ( talk) 18:15, 31 October 2021 (UTC)

  • @ Dotx3: are you still interested in fixing up this article, or do you want to close this PR? Z1720 ( talk) 14:57, 16 November 2021 (UTC)
    @ Z1720 I am! I'm working through the comments above in a sandbox; will push to the main article soon. Thank you for your feedback and your patience - and for checking in! Dotx3 ( talk) 04:13, 17 November 2021 (UTC)


Cut and run


I've listed this article for peer review because I've been considering nominating it for GA eventually, but I don't have a lot of experience in politics or language-related articles, so I'm having difficulty assessing any gaps or weaknesses. I've also been the article's only major contributor since I performed an overhaul in 2016, so it would be grand to hear a second opinion, especially because the subject matter is politically charged.

I'm generally looking for a broad second opinion, but I am a little concerned about the weight being given to various elements and about the competency of my summarizations. Some advice on usage examples—whether there's too many, there could stand to be more non-fiction literary, some literary could be swapped out for older ones, more other political speeches—would be appreciated; the wikisource texts on the talk page may be of use there. Thanks, ~Cheers, Ten Ton Parasol 02:02, 7 September 2021 (UTC)

Hi TenTonParasol, I am sorry that no one has responded to this PR yet. I am the wrong editor to look at this because I know very little about ships. However, there is an active Wikiproject at WP:SHIPS with lots of editors that are writing GAs and FAs at the moment. I suggest posting a message on that talk page asking someone to review this article. Z1720 ( talk) 18:19, 31 October 2021 (UTC)
Hi TenTonParasol, did you reach out to anyone to review this? Are you still interested in getting comments? Z1720 ( talk) 14:47, 16 November 2021 (UTC)
Oh! I got totally distracted and forgot to. I'm wondering if WP:SHIPS is the best place, considering the bulk of the article and my concerns don't actually have to do with the nautical usage of the term and more its usage in political rhetoric. ~Cheers, Ten Ton Parasol 14:55, 16 November 2021 (UTC)
If you are looking for politics people, consider WP:POLITICS I also suggest going to WP:LIBRARY, Google Scholar, and databases provided by your local library system to get more sources and information. Z1720 ( talk) 15:31, 16 November 2021 (UTC)
It's not a problem with sourcing information, because I am indeed aware of those resources (and have indeed used most of them to build this specific article). My concerns are largely about balance and treatment, but I will indeed ask at the WikiProject. ~Cheers, Ten Ton Parasol 15:49, 16 November 2021 (UTC)
I mention the sources because it is a shorter article, and there might be more information out there to add to its prose. Z1720 ( talk) 16:03, 16 November 2021 (UTC)


The May Pamphlet

Article ( | visual edit | history) · Article talk ( | history) · Watch • Watch review
This review is too large to display here. Please go to the review directly.
Date added: 4 July 2021, 20:20 UTC
Last edit: 12 November 2021, 15:41 UTC


Lists

Mnet Asian Music Award for Song of the Year


I've listed this article for peer review because I am looking to upgrade this article to a FL.

Thanks, ɴᴋᴏɴ21 ❯❯❯ talk 04:52, 26 November 2021 (UTC)


List of Music Bank Chart winners (2020)


I've listed this article for peer review because I want to nominate it for Featured List. Thanks, EN- Jungwon 10:25, 21 November 2021 (UTC)

Comments from Kavyansh.Singh

  • on the South Korean KBS television music program Music Bank. — Per MOS:SOB, avoid placing links next to each other so that they look like a single link.
  • The table needs a caption. In the table code, change "|+" to "|+ <caption_text>". If the caption would duplicate nearest section heading, better use "|+ {{sronly|<table_caption_text>}}".
  • Column headers need colscopes/rowscopes. Example, "! Episode" should be "! scope=col | Episode"
  • Assuming good faith on reliability of all foreign sources.
  • Suggesting to add ALT text to all the images.

Else, it is ready for a run at FLC! Any remaining issues would be minor enough to be resolved during the review itself. – Kavyansh.Singh ( talk) 06:51, 26 November 2021 (UTC)


List of Coppa Italia finals

Previous peer review


I've listed this article for peer review because I'd like that this article'd be a FL. Dr Salvus 17:07, 22 July 2021 (UTC)

Thanks, Dr Salvus 17:07, 22 July 2021 (UTC)


WikiProject peer-reviews